Training for the Disney World Marathon

This year when I turned 29 I decided to make a list of 30 things to do before I turn 30.  Kind of cheesy, but what can I say, I’m a list maker and cheese ball.  The list had to contain things that I have not done before.  That way I can try new things that I might not have otherwise.  I started the list back in March since that’s when my birthday is and I am completely tardy in recording the progress.  The list is still not quite complete, but when it is, I will post it.  I’ll also post about the things I’ve already checked off the list.  

So far the biggest experience I’m working on is to run the 2013 Disney Marathon!  I’m super excited about it.  I have run one other marathon before, but this will be my first time running a destination race.  My daughter and I went to Disney World this past January and saw all the amazing runners and I just new that I had to run that race.  I haven’t officially started training yet.  My start date is August 27, which happens to be the first day back to school for the kiddos, perfect timing!  But all summer I have been keeping up a pretty good running schedule.  Here it is…

Monday- Rest

Tuesday- 4 miles

Wednesday- 6 miles

Thursday- 4 miles

Friday- 6 miles

Saturday- 3 miles

Sunday- 8 miles

Sometimes I switch it up with speed work, resistance training, and the occasional race, to keep things interesting. I plan on posting about my training and I hope it keeps me accountable on getting all the workouts in.  Since it is Sunday…I better get off my computer and go run those 8 miles!

6 thoughts on “Training for the Disney World Marathon

  1. That is going to be the best race ever!!! You are totaly awesome and I’m looking forward to learning more about your training.

  2. I didn’t even know Disney had a marathon! That’s probably the best marathon ever, I’ve never wanted to run a marathon before, but suddenly I do, or maybe I just want to go to Disneyland/World to cheer you on!

    • Yes I think Disney Wold has to be the ultimate place to run a marathon! It was so amazing how many people were lining the route to cheer on the runners. You should totally plan a trip to take your kids someday. We absolutely love it there!

Leave a Reply

