Work Out Of the Day- Rest, 6 miles & Give Me Advice

Yesterday was a very welcome “rest” day, if you can call chasing kids around for 12 hours rest :).  Then today I had a 6 mile run on the agenda, which was not so welcome.  Luckily my nanny duties only lasted 10 hours, haha, so I was off early and able to get my run done earlier than expected.  I did log the miles, but made one fatal mistake.  I was starving when I got home so I devoured an entire cantaloupe!  Yes, the whole thing, and it was delicious!  That giant melon sloshing around in my belly for 6 miles was not a good plan.  As much as I’d like to say that I’ll never do that again, I know I will :).  I’ve had many workouts with a full belly and always vowed never to do it again, only to commit the same exercise sin just weeks later.  I guess I’ll never learn.

Anyway, moving away from my over eating expeditions.

My question to those who run or workout early in the morning.  How in the world do you do it?!  I’ve been running for many years and I feel so lazy because I just can’t log the miles right when I wake up.  I mean, I do wake up a couple times a week and get the job done, but it feels so unproductive and lethargic.  I’ve tried going to bed early and even though I’ve had enough sleep I still feel like a giant mashed potato blob trying to run.  I’m getting pretty worried about it too since the Disney Marathon starts way early.  I think I have to catch a bus at like 4 am!  I really don’t want to be zombie girl.  Any advice??

2 thoughts on “Work Out Of the Day- Rest, 6 miles & Give Me Advice

  1. I think the key is to go to sleep early to try and get your rest. Personally, if I am going to run a long run in the morning, I will eat some yucky supplement with caffeine to get me going. It helps a lot with my energy level (Gu, Shot blocks, 5 Hour Energy…). You are doing amazing Mrs. Vickie! Keep up the good work!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

