Day #2 Vegan Challenge

Day 2 was much better than day 1.  I’ve been racking up tons of fruits and veggies!  I should do a fruit/veggie count everyday and see how many I eat on this challenge.  Let’s see, day 1 I had around 7 servings. Day 2, 8 servings.  I find it much easier to just grab an apple or some grapes, rather than sit around reading labels and trying to decide if a granola bar if vegan.

I made a vegan version of 7 layer mexican dip for dinner.  Well, mine was only 5 layers…but still tasty!  I served it with baked tortilla chips.  I just cut up a bunch of tortillas, spray a baking pan with a little oil, lay the tortillas down, spray again, salt, and bake at 425 degrees for about 6-7 minutes.  And here’s the recipe for the dip…

Image

5 Layer Vegan Dip

1 can of fat free vegetarian refried beans

1 tsp. cumin

1/4 tsp. garlic powder

1/4 tsp. onion powder

2 ripe avocados

2 limes

1 red pepper (or any color you like)

1 can olives

1 cup chopped tomatoes (or salsa)

Directions: Stir the cumin, garlic powder, and onion powder into the refried beans.  Layer the beans into a serving dish.  Mash up the 2 avocados with the juice of 2 limes, salt to taste.  Layer the avocados on top of the beans.  Chop up the red pepper and layer in on top of the avocados.  Chop up the olives and layer.  Chop up the tomatoes and layer.  Easy peasy!  Oooo, corn would be good in here too!  Yes yes, add corn too 🙂  Darn, next time I need to remember that.

A little note on how it feels eating an all plant based diet.  I feel good overall.  I’m my usual self.  I have felt less hungry, probably due to all the fiber and water that is in the foods I’m eating.  Sometimes though I feel like my meals aren’t nutritionally complete.  I mean they are, possibly even more so than when I’m just eating normally.  But I’m so used to eating meat, eggs, and dairy, that it feels like something is missing.  I guess that is just habit and something one would have to get used to.

P.S. I really wanted beef jerky today!

P.P.S. And milk chocolate!

Leave a Reply

