Day #3 Vegan Challenge

I’m a bit late posting day 3 so I’ll try my best to recollect how it was.  I was busy nannying kiddos and didn’t have a lot of time to plan out meals.  I usually just grab something that’s quick and eat it while I’m tending to the kids, but since I had to think about the content of my food, it was trickier than grab and go.  Packaged oatmeal, no, granola bar, no, bread, no, crackers, no, teriyaki beef jerky, definitely no, hmmmm.  A full day of apples, peanut butter, and carrot sticks was not very fun.  I should have packed food!  By the time I got home I was super tired, but still had to cook dinner.  Stir fry was on the menu.

Image

 

I didn’t really have a recipe for this dish.  I was pretty much just chopping and tossing in the pan.  But I’ll give you an estimate of what went into this meal 🙂

Veggie Tofu Stir Fry

1 green pepper

1/2 red pepper

1/2 yellow pepper

1 cup broccoli florets

1/2 cup chopped carrots

3/4 cup edamame

1 tub of tofu

3 cloves garlic

1 tsp. grated ginger

Sesame oil

Sauce:

1/4 cup soy sauce

1 cup water

3 Tbsp. chili sauce

1/2 tsp. onion powder

1 scant Tbsp. corn starch

Directions: Chop up all the veggies, toss in a hot wok with a couple tablespoons of oil.  Cook for a few minutes until the veggies start to soften.  Chop up the garlic and grate the ginger, add it to the veggies.  Cube up the tofu and add it to the wok. Next, add the ingredients for the sauce to a small bowl and whisk together.  Once the garlic and ginger have had a chance to cook a bit with the veggies, add the sauce and cook until thickened.  Add about a teaspoon or 2 of sesame oil to the stir fry and turn off the heat.  Serve over rice and chow down!

 

3 thoughts on “Day #3 Vegan Challenge

Leave a Reply

