Day #6 Vegan Challenge & Running

Today was a big day on the Vegan Challenge!  I had a really long run and I was excited to see how it would compare to other runs since changing my diet.  I headed out on a 16 mile run.  Yes, you read that right, 16 long miles.  I was also testing out a pre run beverage called G Force. It tasted like chalk, burnt orange kool aid, and sand.  But it did get give me a boost without making me jittery.  So off I went.  It was a beautiful fall day, I couldn’t have asked for better conditions.  I have to say, my stamina felt loads better on this run compared to previous long runs.  I really do think that this increase of high nutrient food in my diet helped my performance.  Even after the 16 miles had passed I actually felt like if I had to, I could do more.  Luckily for me, I didn’t have to do any more and could take a shower!

After that many miles I was of course starving.  I could not wait to dive into the oreos!  I hadn’t had any processed foods all week and those oreos were calling my name.  Can you believe those are vegan?  Yup, they are. Sweet!  And delicious with peanut butter smeared in the middle :).

For dinner I boiled up some whole wheat linguine and made a peanut sauce.  I was lazy and didn’t take measurements to include a recipe.  But I will tell you that it was easy.  Peanut butter, soy sauce, chili sauce, garlic & onion powder, ginger, and water.  Whisk, heat, and enjoy.  I put the leftover stir fry on top of the noodles and it was super tasty.  Thank goodness because the last two vegan dinners I’ve made were not winners.

Only one more day left of the challenge and I can check another item off my 30 before 30 list 🙂

Leave a Reply

