WDW Recap & #24 Universal Studios Harry Potter

I’m back from my Halloween WDW getaway!  It truly is my favorite time of year at Disney.  The Food and Wine Festival is going on, Halloween decorations are up, the weather is beautiful, and you can trick or treat the Magic Kingdom.  It just doesn’t get any better.  Since we had fab costumes from Val’s birthday party, we wore them to Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party.  Believe it or not, we were not the most decked out group.  But we did get our fair share of random people taking our photograph.  If you are a Halloween fan you have to go to this party at least once in your life.  Tons of people dress up and trick or treat no matter their age, it’s the best!

Image

Lots of people always ask me what my favorite ride is at Disney World and I have a few.  But my favorite coaster is Expedition Everest over at Animal Kingdom.  Just look at this view!

Image

Ok, I love me some candy, but this is a bit ridiculous.  I swear this picture doesn’t even do our haul justice!  We weighed our trick or treat bag when we got home and it was 28 pounds!!  That’s after I had been eating it for 2 days, craziness.

I posted lots of other pics on Facebook.  So if you want to see more Disney head on over there 🙂

Image

The highlight of the trip for me had to be our detour over to Universal Orlando.  I got to check #24 off my 30 before 30 list!  I was so completely stoked to see Hogwarts the giddiness was just oozing out of every pore.  It was amazing!  I’m a total HP nerd, it’s one of my obsessions.  To see it come to life and walk through the fantasy was incredible.  I probably could have spent the whole day meticulously looking at every detail.  I could fill this whole blog with Harry Potter insanity, but instead I’m going to stick to my 3 favorite things of the day. #1 frozen butter beer, so tasty!  A must purchase. But buy it in the Three Broomsticks and not at a cart, it’s a buck cheaper in the restaurant.  #2 Harry Potter and the Forbidden Journey.  This ride is fantastic.  I was screaming the whole time the first go because I didn’t know what to expect.  But the 2nd 3rd and 4th ride just got better and better, loved it.  #3 Ollivander’s Wand Shop.  Valie got to be the person to have a wand “choose” her!  I was beside myself.  I probably looked like the biggest dork ever, I was so dang excited for her.  They did it just like the movie.  They made the wrong wands do crazy things to drawers and bells.  Then when the cute little old wizard guy gave her “the” wand, the wind was blowing and the light was glowing, it was so so cool.  Of course they must have know that I was the biggest sucker ever and of course I was going to buy that wand for her.  Hello, it “chose” her!  They only pick on person per show and who knows if she’d ever get picked again, so I coughed up the $34 bucks and it will be our new family heirloom :).

Image

2 thoughts on “WDW Recap & #24 Universal Studios Harry Potter

  1. It was such a wonderful trip! I love HP World so much. The Halloween party was super fun too! Thanks so much for including me in your WDW plans. I had a fun time!

  2. The whole trip was awesome but I totally agree about Olivander’s Wand. We kept seeing people waiting in an insane long line in the hot sun so we finally decided to join in when we saw the line shrink down a bit. I was expecting it to be hoaky and a little lame but it seriously blew my mind with its awesomeness!!

Leave a Reply

