Am I done running yet??!!

It’s been a while since I’ve posted.  The holiday season and marathon training has been taking up all my time.  Luckily, I think I’m almost done with my Christmas shopping!  I wanted to be totally done by the day after Thanksgiving, but that never happens :).  

I’ve been dreading today all week.  The 20 mile run on my calendar has been staring at me and laughing.  So, with zero enthusiasm, I laced up my sneakers and headed out to pound some pavement.  I had no idea where I was going to go to rack up the miles so I just started going.  After lapping the rec center I got the idea to run to Sugarhouse park.  Well, after running around the park a few times and crying at every hill, I decided it was time to switch parks.  Off to Liberty park!  Oh man, I was so happy to see flat ground at Liberty.  Plus, the water fountain was on, score!  My joy did not last long however.  Mile 12 I started to feel the foot pain and frankly I was just running out of steam.  I pushed through to the 14 mile mark but then I had to start walk/running.  

On my way home I was so hungry!  And guess what?  I kept smelling fried chicken (KFC) and pizza, it was cruel.  This is why I can’t carry more than a dollar with me, otherwise I’d stop off and eat greasy things!  I’ve been fueling with fruit snacks and pretzels, and those just were not cutting it today.  I didn’t even eat my last portion of snacks because it just sounded so unappealing.

The last 6 miles went by incredibly slow.  Mostly because I was just slow.  Those 10 minute miles quickly became 11 minutes, then 12, then well, basically walking.  I even called my hubby to pick me up about 3/4 of a mile from the house because I had just reached the 20 mile mark and I really didn’t want to go any further.  I only have a few brutally long runs left before the marathon and I hope they get better.  I really want to enjoy my marathon darn it!

 

2 thoughts on “Am I done running yet??!!

  1. You are my hero!!!! I can’t believe you ran basically all over the east side of the valley!!! Even when it was hard, you pushed through and made it to mile 20- WOW!!!!!!!!
    Well done!!!!!

Leave a Reply

