#6 Donate Blood

This Valentine’s Day I not only ate lots of Chocolate, but I also checked #6 off of my 30 before 30 list.  That’s right ladies and gentlemen, I donated blood!  How very festive of me to give my red sugary blood on Love Day :).  It was actually very spur of the moment.  I was out buying treats with my daughter and mom and we were about to drive by the American Red Cross and suddenly my mom pulls right into the parking lot.  She said I should go see if I can make an appointment.  Ok, what the heck.  I go inside and there is no one in there giving blood, just a bunch of employees.  Of course, because most sane people don’t think about doling out blood instead of candy.  The nice ladies working there told me I could make an appointment or I could just head on in since there was zero wait.  Well, it felt silly to not just do it since I was standing there, so I agreed.

They signed me in, gave me a cute sticker and some reading material.  After I looked over the information about donating, I went into a little cubicle to get my blood pressure checked, a finger prick, and fill out some medical info.  Then I was off to the comfy chair to relax and do a bit of bleeding.

Here I am!  I bet they don’t get many people wanting to photograph their blood donating experience :).

Image

After I was finished donating my pint of blood I raided the snack and beverage area.  I was quite thirsty after.  I downed a couple bottles of water and some pretzels.  One of the tips for giving blood is to go after you’ve had a meal and are well hydrated.  I had had a giant frozen yogurt and lots of candy right before, I supposed that worked since I felt fine.

ImageImage

This is me embarrassing my daughter.  Look, I even got a red bandage for Valentine’s Day!

Image

Giving blood was such a simple and relatively painless task.  I was a tired that evening, but that could have been because I ran 5 miles that day, was out completing errands, and then cooked our traditional Thanksgiving for Valentine’s meal.  Yeah, that was probably the real culprit.

I mentioned that donating blood was on my 30 before 30 list to Miss Nancy who was working at the Red Cross.  She thought I should speak with their PR guy, John, and get some info to share on my blog.  I was very flattered when he actually asked me to write a little article for their newsletter about my experience as a first tome donor.

The next time I donate blood I really like to have company!  So if anyone would like to have a little blood party with me, all are welcome.  Come on you know you want to 🙂

You can visit www.redcrossblood.org for information on where, how, who is eligible to donate.  It really is an easy form of service and you can save up to 3 lives with each donation.

Leave a Reply

