#30 Invent a New Ice-Cream Flavor

This was definitely the tastiest item on my 30 before 30 list.  To get some inspiration for flavors, my daughter and I set off to Target to browse the grocery aisles.  It wasn’t hard to find things we like, but it was difficult to find unique items that you don’t see in ice-cream all the time.  The first flavor we decide on was doughnut.  Vanilla cake doughnut with chocolate icing to be exact.  And the second flavor (because who can do just one flavor?!) was a combination of maraschino cherries, white chocolate, and toffee.  Now I don’t know if these are “new” flavors, but they are new to us 🙂

The ice-cream base I used was a “no cook” one.  I usually do a cooked base with egg yolks, but I wanted to try out something new.  I looked up some recipes and decide to just wing it.  I found a bunch that didn’t even call for cream!  Milk does not equal ice-cream in my world.  So here’s the variation I used.

1 14 ounce can or sweetened condensed milk

1 cup of heavy cream

1 cup of milk (I used 1%)

2 teaspoons of vanilla

1 Tablespoon of sugar (not sure why, but I saw several recipes with a little added sugar, so I added it too :))

You just put all of the ingredients into a bowl and whisk until incorporated.  Then chill the mixture for at least and hour, or longer if you have time.  I couldn’t wait longer than an hour so that’s when I pulled mine out of the fridge and dumped it in my ice-cream maker.  I have the kitchen aid attachment that I keep frozen and ready to go at all times :).

Image

Once the vanilla base was ready, I divided the mixture into 2 containers and mixed in the doughnuts, cherries, chocolate, and toffee.  It was still really soft and had to harden up in the freezer.  The waiting is the worst.  Especially for a 9 year old bottomless pit.  Oh what am I saying…I’m the one with the sweet tooth…it’s worse for me.  I cannot confirm or deny licking the ice-cream mixer and not sharing.

100 minutes later (because that’s how long Val’s tumbling class is with commute time),  ta da   ICE-CREAM!!  This one is the doughnut.

Image

This one is the maraschino cherry, white chocolate, toffee.  We tried to come up with a name for this one and couldn’t agree on anything.  I wanted to call it ValieGirl, but that’s what I want to name pretty much all our inventions.  So that was a no go.  And Val likes crazy names like unicorn butter, go figure.  Maybe we should have combined names and it could be Valie’s Unicorn Butter. Hmmm, I think we’ll have to go back to the drawing board later.

Image

So the verdict on our ice-cream was that we prefer a cooked base verses a non-cooked base.  The non-cooked just isn’t as smooth, rich, and creamy.  But still tasty if you don’t have all day (or can’t stand waiting).  My fave was the doughnut.  It was so good.  The doughnuts don’t get hard, just firm, and the icing was super fudgey, deliciousness.  Valerie liked the cherry, white chocolate, toffee best.  I knew she would though since she is obsessed with maraschino cherries.  I liked this flavor as well, but I think next time I would go for making a white chocolate ganache and drizzling it in.  That way it doesn’t harden up like the chunks of white chocolate and would stay smoother.

Hope you all have a SWEET day!!

2 thoughts on “#30 Invent a New Ice-Cream Flavor

  1. I want to try the donut one! I’m surprised a big name ice cream maker hasn’t made a donut flavor, even ben and jerrys and they are know to make crazy flavors.

Leave a Reply

