A Week of Low Calorie, Filling Meals

I haven’t ever tried making a weeks worth of meals at a time and thought it was worth a go.  One of my daily struggles is finding a filling meal that is also calorie friendly.  It’s not always convenient to steam veggies and grill chicken at every meal.  So why not do a ton at once and package it up?!

One thing I did want was some variety.  This was difficult.  I went to Costco and bought the 10 pound boneless skinless bag of chicken (used about half the bag), the big bag of fresh broccoli florets, bananas, & clementines.  I also used brown rice, butternut squash, whole wheat pasta, jarred pasta sauce, and lentils.  I also have milk, yogurt, boiled eggs, and bread to round out the week.

I cut all the chicken breasts in half since they were huge, then separated them into seasonings.  I used pesto, mexican seasoning, teriyaki, and just salt and pepper.  I made sure to use the pesto and teriyaki sparingly.  But those are pretty flavorful so it didn’t take much to make the chicken tasty.  Next I got out the grill pan and grilled away.

For the veggies, I steamed the broccoli and roasted the butternut.  I also had some leftover asparagus, so that got used up as well.

The complex carbs I used were brown rice and lentils.  I used the rice mainly with the teriyaki chicken, so the sauce and juice from the chicken flavors the rice.  But I’m not against a little soy sauce if the rice is too plain.  For the lentils, I just flavored them with curry powder.

To assemble the meals I got out my kitchen scale and weighed 3oz of chicken per meal.  I then added as much broccoli as I liked or 1/2-1 cup of butternut, sometimes both.  Then I added either a 1/2 cup of lentils, 3-4 oz cooked pasta, or 1/2 cup of brown rice.  I was surprised at how many meals I got for my money.  This weeks worth of meals for 2 people was only about $40!  That includes the milk, yogurt, bread, fruit, and eggs, SWEET!ImageFor breakfasts I made a big pot of oatmeal, sweetened it with splenda, and separated it all into containers as well.  Hubby and I can also add 1/2 a banana to the oatmeal or eat another type of fruit.

The plan is to eat 4 meals a day, 1 snack, and 1 treat.

Each meal has about 250-300 calories.  1 snack should be about 100ish calories and either milk, yogurt, or fruit.  And the treat should be no more than 200 calories.

Obviously my husband gets the meals with a little higher calorie content and I get the lower ones.  It’s not fair, but that’s life.  He also has the option of an extra snack.  So the calories per day will range from around 1200-1600 depending on the choices made.  ImageWe’ve been eating these for a couple days now and so far so good.  I’m definitely not hungry with all the fiber and protein.  I just need to come up some more ideas so I can do this again next week with new flavors.  So stay tuned…:)

2 thoughts on “A Week of Low Calorie, Filling Meals

Leave a Reply

