A Week of Healthy Meals In A Day-Take 2

Last week my challenge was to think before I eat.  I’m so happy to say that this challenge went fantastic.  The Naughty Box https://presentlyobsessed.wordpress.com/2013/04/09/the-naughty-box/ helped sooooo much!  Having the junk out of the pantry, but still available once a day really helped me to be mindful of my indulgences.  Also, prepping all our meals in a day has been one of the greatest things ever!  It is so easy to stay on track when all you have to do is grab a meal out of the fridge and heat it up.  Today is day 10 of our healthy eating venture and I feel so much more energized than when the hubby and I started.  I really feel like I’ve detoxed out all the yuck and actually fed my body.  Not to mention I’m feeling less jiggly, always a plus :), especially with our cruise coming up in 8 days 21 hours and 46 minutes!  I’m totally not counting down, haha.

Alright, so I made another week of meals on Monday.  I went to my favorite, Sunflower Market.  Look at all this pretty produce!  Plus I bought more chicken since it was on sale.  Total…$35 for the week.

Image

First up, Greek salads.  Simple, just some lettus, tomato, cucumber, sliced green olives, and feta (2oz).  I made 4 in plastic containers.  Then when I’m ready to eat I just pour two tablespoons (70 calories) of The Original  Vinaigrette (Costco), and enjoy.

Image

Next, I roasted and sautéed lots of veggies.  Sweet potatoes, zucchini, yellow squash, and asparagus.

Image

Yum, look at those tasty little morsels.

Image

I also made oatmeals for breakfast, brown rice and mexican seasoned lentils for some nice healthy carbs.  Hubs likes the rice, I like the lentils.  I’ve also been letting him put a tablespoon of teriyaki sauce on his meals if he wants.  It’s only 35 calories and it makes him happy.

Protein is chicken again and some salmon and also ham.  I got out the grill this week and grilled the chicken.  Totally fast and easy, definitely doing that again.

So here are most of the meals all assembled and cute.  I went with a calorie count of close to 250 per meal this week.  We are still shooting for 4 meals a day, 2 snacks (fruit, yogurt/milk), and a treat.  On heavy workout days I will eat an extra meal or have an extra snack to fuel my muscles.  I love love love getting a treat everyday too!  Every night I go to the box like a little kid and pick out my treat and eat it with a giant mug of water and watch TV, love it.

Image

For our dinner on Sunday I decided to make salmon salads with avocado and roasted peppers.  It was the end of the week and I wanted to spice up dinner a little.

Image

And may favorite thing of the week is the Normandy Style veggies from Costco!  No chopping, just toss in boiling water and eat.  Always keep a bag in the freezer.

Image

I used them to make ham and veggie fried rice.  I boiled about 6-7 cups of the veggies.  Chopped them up.  Chopped up 15 oz of ham. Scrambled 4 eggs plus 4 whites.  Then I tossed it all into a big hot pot with 2.5 cups of brown rice.  Soy sauce and garlic powder were the seasonings.

Image

To measure our serving sizes I zeroed out a bowl on my food scale and weighed the veggie rice.  I then divided the total ounces by 5 since that’s how many servings I was aiming for, and then zeroed my containers and added that amount to each of them.  Not too bad.  These servings turned out huge too!  Tons of veggies, 3 oz ham, 1/2 cup brown rice, and egg.  About 300 calories, nice!

Image

Ok, now that we are completely sick of cooking, lets eat!

5 thoughts on “A Week of Healthy Meals In A Day-Take 2

Leave a Reply

