Cruise Countdown, Running, & Planning Vacation Workouts

Our cruise is next week!  I’m so dang excited I hardly know what to do with myself.  We will be on the Disney Magic for 8 nights, AHHHH!  Heaven.   We have lots of sea days, a stop at Disney’s private Island Castaway Cay, a stop at Disney World, and Key West.  I’m pretty much obsessed with packing and making sure that everything is perfect before we leave.  I’m one of those crazy people that can’t relax unless everything is in order before departing.

In order to keep my anxious energy at bay and to blast a bit of flab before putting on that bikini, I have been running with my little lady.  Isn’t she cute?  Love her to death.  She wanted to head out one evening and it was cold.  I was soooo not feeling it, but I never turn her down when she wants to exercise, so out we went. 4.1 miles and it was lovely.  I can’t thank her enough for inspiring me everyday to live life to the fullest.

Image

I’ve also been trying to create a plan of attack for exercising while on vacation.  The ship has a running loop on deck 4 and a nice gym.  On our last cruise I tried to run at least 4-5 miles most days.  This got really boring really fast.  I was on a beautiful boat and just wanted to do other things.  So this trip I’d like to try a new approach to exercising.  I am planning on using machines that are not treadmills, taking some group workout classes, and putting some exercise videos on the iPad.  I’m sure I’ll run sometimes as well, especially since my girly wants to, but variety is my main focus.

Oooooo, but the Castaway 5k will be my exercise highlight!  I’m stoked for that.  They have a 5k on Disney’s Island the morning you get there.  Our plan is that my daughter and hubby will run together and I’ll run the course twice solo.  I practiced a 10k today and it was definitely not my best.  6.2 miles in 57:17.  Totally not bad, but I was just out of gas that last 1.2 miles.  It’s been a long time since I ran a 10k quickly.  But since I will be in paradise, I’m hoping the miles will just fly by and then I’ll go jump into the beautiful ocean.  Can’t wait to give you all a recap about it when we get back!!

Leave a Reply

