How a Crazy Girl Packs a Suitcase

I have to admit that I am not a light packer.  I need lots of clothing options, shoes, jewelry, toiletries, etc.  Yet, I do not like to pay to check baggage.  Hmmmm, this may create a dilemma for some.  But for me, I see it as a challenge to use my Tetris skills.  I’m going to now give away all my packing secrets to you.

First, choose a suitcase that is carry on legal.  I bought a cheap one at Target.  It is 22 inches long, 14 inches across, and 8 inches wide.  It definitely gets wider when fully packed, but still within legal limits.

Next you will line bottom of the suitcase with shoes.  I start with sneakers.  Make sure to pack the insides of the shoes with socks, underwear, belts, swim suits, anything that will fit.  If you have stinky feet, make sure to spray shoes with odor eaters first :).

Image

Alright, now roll up some clothes and place in between the spaces of the shoes.  I like to take lots of dresses because they take up less space and they are easy.

ImageNow we start to layer the clothes.  I just squeeze the clothes in where ever they fit best.  I forgot to photograph my favorite wrinkle spray, but it’s the Downy Wrinkle Release.  You can buy it in the travel sized section at Wal-Mart.  Love it, works really well.ImageAfter you have a good layer of clothes it’s time for another layer of shoes.  Yes, that is 3 pairs of heels and some flats.  Again, make sure to stuff your shoes with clothes!  Also, place items in between the soles and the heels, can’t leave any space unpacked.ImageThis pic is blurry, sorry.  But you can make out that I layers more clothes on top of the shoes.  ImageA couple more layers. ImageThis is the side view.  When my suitcase looks like it shouldn’t close, that’s when I stop piling.ImageCan’t forget to slide some items into that front zipper pocket!!

I couldn’t take a picture of myself closing the suitcase, but man that would have been funny!  So you will just have to imagine me sitting on the suitcase and stuffing the clothes in that are falling out as I try to zip it shut.ImageIt takes a minute to get it closed, but TA-DA!!  ImageI was trying to keep track of what went into the suitcase, so here’s the run down, give or take a little.

3 pairs of sneakers, 3 pairs of heels

8 pairs of socks

10 panties, 3 bras

6 belts

8 dresses

4 shorts

3 tanks, 5 shirts

3 bikinis, 1 cover up

3 exercise shorts, 6 tops, 6 bras

2 jackets, 3 skirts

2 pj’s

pirate accessories

Oooo I almost forgot my personal item!!  I’m a huge dummy and didn’t take any pictures of my personal item.  Everyone is allowed an item that will fit under their seat, so don’t forget to take advantage of that additional packing space.  I used a tote.  About the size of a book bag or large purse.  I put another pair of heels and my flip flops in it as well as snacks, jewelry. cosmetics, liquids (in a clear bag of course), small electronics, and my little purse with all my cards and money.

I also wear my sneakers usually on the plane as well as a jacket, pants, and any chunky jewelry I want to take.  That way, those bulky items are on me and not taking up valuable luggage space.

I think that was it.  That is a lot of stuff for a little carry on and personal item!  So if you like to pack tons of stuff but don’t want to pay the fees, give my method a try 🙂

4 thoughts on “How a Crazy Girl Packs a Suitcase

  1. Ok.. I’ve totally decided that each time I have to pack or cook in bulk, you are totally going to have to come and help me out! 😀

    Hope you have a WONDERFUL trip! Can’t wait to hear all about it! ❤ ºoº

  2. Yikes, that’s a lot of stuff! Can it really fit in the overhead when it is that full?

    You might want to consider creating a capsule wardrobe next time with clothes that mix/match/layer with each other. Then do laundry every week. With lots of pretty accessories you can get a lot of outfits for a lot less bulk and weight. Next, wear the heaviest items on the plane, like your boots, jeans, and jacket.

    I bet you could get everything you need for less than 20 pounds. And you’ll be able to haul it around a lot easier.

    • I checked out your blog, great stuff! My suitcase fits very easily in the overhead. It’s usually one of the smaller cases in the bin actually. The capsules are a great idea, I’ll have to give that a go sometime.

Leave a Reply

