Disney Cruise Day 4…Castaway Cay!!

One of the main reasons I decided on this particular cruise was because of it’s stop in Castaway Cay.  I had been dreaming about Disney’s private island forever.  Well, maybe not forever, but a long time.

The first thing that I wanted to do on the island was the Castaway Cay 5k!  Running with all the beautiful surroundings, it just couldn’t get any better…or could it.  We’ll get to that.

Here I am all hyped up and ready to go!  So excited I blurred the picture.

Image

And here’s Cameron pretending to be so excited he blurred the picture.

Image

All the participants meet in Rockin Bar D at 8:15 to get numbers and sign in.  At 8:30 everyone walks off the ship together and over to the bike rental area.  It’s about a 10-15 minute walk, a nice warm up.  The race competition is only open to guests 12 years old and up.  However, if your child wants to run with you they certainly can, they just won’t have a number or be counted as a competitor.

Valerie was sticking with Cameron for this race.  I was really wanted to see how I could do time wise, so I was running solo.

Image

I really wanted to take pictures while I was running but there was just no way.  The next picture I got after the race started was one of Val and Cam at the finish line.

But wait!!  I have a running story for you!  You didn’t think I was going to skip the details of the Castaway Cay 5k did you?  If you are bored with running stories feel free to skip to the next pic, otherwise read on 🙂

Ok, I started the race in the back.  After about 30 seconds I decided to shoot to the front so I had a better chance of finding people to pace with.  I knew I was clipping along at a pretty good pace and I hoped I could maintain it the whole race.  I ran behind a couple of females for a few minutes until I got gutsy and passed them.  I didn’t want to get re-passed by them so I maintained a very quick speed (for me at least) for what felt like an hour, in reality it was probably 3-4 minutes.  As I was keeping this increased speed I noticed that I was catching up to some males.  We had only ran a mile, maybe a mile and quarter, and I was checking for other runners in front of these dudes.  I didn’t see any.  Oh my gracious, could this be the front of the pack?  Holy crap it was!  This was my first time being up with the Big Boys and it totally surged my confidence.  I caught up to the boys!  My only focus for the rest of the run was to keep up with them, which was no small feat.  I just kept looking at their long legs with envy and tried to remain steady.  I was breathing really hard, but I was determined.  There were 3 guys in front of me and I got really close to the 3rd one.  So I decided to pick it up and pass him.  I think he was surprised to see me come up on the side and pass him…awesome.  Well my victory only lasted a few minutes because I desperately needed a swig of water.  I slowed to a walk, grabbed a glass and kept walking quickly.  It was only about 10 seconds, but it was enough for dude #3 to catch up to me and blow past the water station.  Dang it, why did I have to require water?!  Ugh, oh well.  I set the cup down and started up as quickly as I could.  I caught up again, but there was no way I could take him on again.  I was getting that 5k nausea and I even though I knew we only had about three quarters of a mile or so left, I was running out of sprint power.  I maintained my quick even speed and could still see the boys so that was good.  As I continued on, telling myself that the pain would end soon, I saw it…the finish line.  I ran a fast as I could across it and could not believe the clock when I approached.  I crossed just seconds after the guy I had been chasing with a time of 24:35!  A personal best for me!  I was so out of breath as I approached the Big Boys who were forming a line to be counted by the Disney Cast Member.  When the Cast Member asked me my room number, it hit me.  I was the first girl!  The FIRST GIRL!!  I was so happy I just bopped around the finish for a couple minutes like an idiot.  I have been second and third in my age group before but never first.  Ah first…felt sooooo good.

Now my original plan was to go run the course again and try to catch Cam and Val before they finished.  Well that was definitely not happening.  I just set a PR and still felt like I could vomit.  I’d be smiling while I puked, but still, ewe.  I drank a bunch of water and decided to just jog the course for a bit.  I did bump into our family we were traveling with but I knew there was no way of catching Val and Cam.  The course back tracks once in the first mile so I just skipped that and did the bike path and back to the finish.  A few minutes later Cameron and Val came running arcoss the finish, hooray!

Image

Here we are with our Mickey medals.  This little plastic metal will be my most cherished.  Such a milestone day!  And it’s only 9:15!

Image

Here is the rest of the fam.  Way to go girls!

Whose ready for a day at the beach?

Image

We are!  We changed into swim suits as quickly as possible and headed out to the ocean.  The water felt cold on our hot skin but after a couple minutes it was seriously heaven.  Once we were used to the water, some of our group headed to Pelican Plunge.  It is so cool.  It’s 2 water slides out in the ocean!  You have to swim to it but it’s really not that far.  We went down a couple times and loved loved loved it.

Our next adventure was snorkeling.  So sad I didn’t get a picture.  We were running from place to place and my camera is not water proof, darn.  This was Valerie’s first time snorkeling.  She was a bit nervous, but once she got a hang of it she loved it.  There was a sunken ship and a Mickey statue way out in the water.  I felt like Dory.  Just keep swimming swimming swimming.  We were out there for at least 90 minutes.  There were lots of fish the further you went out.  So cool.

When we finally made it back to shore my stomach muscles were all tensed up.  I was going to feel that tomorrow.  Swimming is not my forte.  I have bad form and I sink.  But it was worth it.

Image

Time for some food!  We were starving.  Thank goodness Disney does a BBQ on the island.  There are two family friendly spots to eat.  Cookies and Cookies Too.  Same food just different sides of the island.  We ate at Cookies Too.

Image

Yum, our lunch was very good.  I stuck with mostly proteins, veggies, and fruit.  The chips came back to the ship with me for later, shhh.  Oh and one of my new favorite drink tricks!  I fill my cup with water until there is just an inch left at the top, then I put in a splash of fruit punch of regular lemonade.  It flavors the water but doesn’t add any artificial sweeteners.  Refreshing.

Image

Moving on.  Time for a bike ride!  I signed us up for the “Getaway Package”.  This included snorkel gear, bikes, and floats.  It was $32 for adults and $16 for kids.  Not too bad.  If you only want some of those items you can rent them separately.  The snorkel gear is the most expensive at $25, then bikes and floats are only $6 each.

We biked the 5k path.  So much easier on a bike :).

Image

These are the signs they have to direct the runners.

Image

This is an airstrip.  We ran out and back on this baby for the 5k.  It makes your feet feel like they could melt off.

Image

The scenery is gorgeous at Castaway Cay.

Image

We biked to the tower to look out over the island.  Very fun to see all the way around the island from up there.

Image

Can you see the boat way off in the distance??

Image

There are water stops all along the biking paths.  Disney is the best host!

Image

We rode out past the cabana’s and to the end of the bike trail.  The water was so beautiful.

Image

Here’s a peek at the cabana’s you can rent for the day.  Very spendy, but cute.

Image

Almost done biking.  What should we do now??

Image

Tether Ball!

Image

Then volleyball!

Look out Val, the ball is headed right for your head!  Bonk.  Just kidding, she hit it.

Image

Volleyball is a hard sport!  No wonder those ladies in the Olympics are so buff.

Image

More tether ball.  The sun was just frying us.  It was about 3:45 and extremely toasty.  The nice girl from the teen hideaway brought us some cold bottled water, so sweet.

Image

There was only about 40 minutes until the beach closed so we had to zip back to Pelican Plunge a few more times, and float in the ocean for a bit, and draw in the sand.

Image

When we finally dragged ourselves out of the water this is what the beach looked like.  I really didn’t want to leave.

Image

One last snap shot before we got back on board.

This was one of my most favorite days ever!

Image

When we got back to our room showers were top priority.  Sandy, sunscreeny, sweaty, gross.  It felt so good to clean up and put on fresh clothes.

I was feeling rather Mickey inspired.

Image

So why not play Mickey Mania?!!  Another fun game show with Disney trivia.  Sigh, not picked.  Still fun though.  Actually I think my favorite thing about Mickey Mania was the host.  He did a little dance to the theme song and it cracked me up every time.

Oh I almost forgot.  We also saw the show Villains Tonight right before Mickey Mania.  It was fun.  Not what I expected.  I thought it might be like the Villians show they do for Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party.  It was actually a story starring Hades from Hercules.  Not my favorite, but still entertaining.

Image

Ice cream before dinner again?  Yes sir!  We were starving, I couldn’t wait a moment longer for sustenance.

ImageAh

Ah FOOD!  I believe we were in Lumiere’s.

This is my shrimp appetizer, very fresh.

Image

Cam’s mushroom tart thingy.  Tasted it, very rich and earthy.

Image

My salad.  Sticking with the fresh flavors tonight.  Orange, avocado, and cranberry.

Image

We were all really chilly after spending so much time in the blazing sun.  Mountain berry tea was just what the doctor ordered.

Image

Valerie got steak, of course.  I’m so bad with cuts of steak.  This might be a fillet minion, or tenderloin?  No idea, but she loved it.  Devoured every last bite.

Image

I can’t get enough fish and seafood!  I hate cooking it at home because it stinks up the house, so I always get it when it will stink up someone else’s kitchen.  Again, no idea what kind this was.  I actually don’t really recall eating it.  I must have been so tired and just scarfed it down without savoring it.

Image

Cam got the lamb.  This was good.  The bite I had was very tender and cooked perfectly.

Image

Dessert trio for Val.  Creme brulee was the winner tonight.

Image

Cam and I both got sundaes.  I think we had ice cream 3 times that day.

Image

And that concludes our marathon day 4 at Castaway Cay with evening ship activities!  I’m exhausted just writing all of that down.  It really was a great day though.  I’d do it again in a minute.

Next up…Day 5…Disney World!!!

3 thoughts on “Disney Cruise Day 4…Castaway Cay!!

  1. WOW! Do they do the 5K there all the time or is it just like once in a while? If I ever did a cruise, Disney would for sure be the way to go! Looks like you had an amazing day and way to get that calorie burn in!

  2. Pingback: Top 10 in 2013 | presentlyobsessed

Leave a Reply

