Weekly Meals, Low Calorie Asian

It’s been a while since I did a weekly meals post.  I am totally out of practice too.  My picture documenting did not go well, mostly I just forgot.  So I will do my best to describe the methods used 🙂

First off I did my weekly grocery shop.  Lots of veggies for stir fry this week and a few asian ingredients (rice wine vinegar, tofu, spices).

When I got home I washed up all the veggies and started chopping away.  Lots of peppers, zucchini, yellow squash, onion, carrots, and broccoli.  I put the veggies in a really big bowl so it would be easy to transfer them to the wok.  I also chopped up a whole head of garlic and had that ready.

Image

The first stir fry I did was a sweet and sour pork.  I started with a tablespoon of oil in a hot wok, put in a third of the veggies and tossed them around.  I then put the lid on and let it steam for just a minute while I got the ground pork out.  The ground pork cooks really fast so that went in next with the garlic.  Toss, toss, toss.  Cook, cook, cook.

Next I mixed up a Kikkoman sweet and sour sauce mix.  You just add vinegar and water.  I added a little ketchup and a splash of soy sauce.  Then you just dump it into the meat and veggies and let it thicken up.

Image

Tada, sweet and sour pork with lots of veggies!  Oh and I added some pineapple we had leftover and some bamboo shoots that have been gathering dust in the pantry :).

Image

Next, tofu and veggies with a sauce…of some kind :).  I started the same way with the veggies but then added the sauce mix next.  The sauce was just called asian seasoning, but it had almost the same directions as the sweet and sour sauce.  Mix and dump, excellent.  I added the tofu last because I didn’t want it to break up while stirring.

And there you have it tofu veggie stir fry.

Image

I also did a chicken veggie stir fry, but alas, no pictures.  I was in a hurry and getting tired and yeah, no pictures.  On the chicken stir fry I did make my own sauce though.

1.5 cups of chicken broth

2 Tbsp. soy sauce

1 tsp grated fresh ginger

2 Tbsp sugar

2 Tbsp corn starch

2 tsp sesame oil

A squeeze of chili sauce

Mix all the ingredients together and pour over veggies and chicken.  Allow to cook until thickened and then chow down.

I made white and brown rice this week.  I know white rice is a crime, but my family is going to go mutiny on me if I didn’t give a little.  So they each get a few meals with white rice this week.  I also have ingredients to make lots of salads and plenty of fresh fruit to round everything out.

Here’s to staying on track this week!

Leave a Reply

