Low Calorie Leftovers & Workout Update

I didn’t get around to posting my meal plan last week, so here it is.  I was burnt out and didn’t want to go to the store so I did some creative meal planning with whatever was left in the house.  Good thing I always keep frozen chicken breasts in the fridge as well as canned veggies.  This is a pic of some things I pulled out for meals.Image

I hate hate hate letting food go to waste, it’s a huge pet peeve of mine.  So what the heck and I going to do with all that purple cabbage?!  I found a recipe for sautéed cabbage that had a sweet and sour flare.  Sounded pretty good.  You just chop chop chop, add a bit of oil to a big pot, toss in the cabbage, salt and pepper and a tbsp of sugar.  Cook cook cook.  When it’s wilted but still has a crunch, add about a 1/3 cup of vinegar.  I used rice wine, but apple cider would be really good too.  This turned out to be so yummy, filled with nutrients, and low calorie.  Can’t get any better than that.

I am the worst photographer ever!  But you can kind of tell it’s cabbage 🙂Image

I wound up grilling off the chicken and using it in 3 different ways.  Salads, chicken with cabbage and peas, and chicken with green beans and edamame.  I also used garbanzo beans in place of chicken to make a few more salads.  Yippie, meals done.  Image

The salads smiling for their close up.  Most of the time I just doused the salads with balsamic vinegar and pepper instead of dressing.  Worked pretty well.  I would have preferred Cafe Rio creamy cilantro, but what ya gonna do?  Image

Ok, call me crazy but I forgot how much I liked canned peas.  It’s probably totally weird, but I do.  Only 60 calories per half cup, loaded with protein and fiber!  This meal was definitely the “hunger” winner.  If I was starving I grabbed one of these.  1 cups of peas, 1 cup of cabbage, and 3 ounces of chicken.  Hit the spot.Image

Haha, my edamame is still frozen here.  I wound up adding about a tbsp of teriyaki sauce to this after heating, perfect low cal asian.

One of my favorite things to buy at the store are the bags of shelled edamame.  They are usually about $2 for a pound.  Such a great deal for a very nutrient dense food.  I hardly ever buy the soybeans in the shell anymore.  They charge way more and you get way less.ImageSo that is how last week looked.  Still working on this week :).

I also wanted to give a workout update since I haven’t in a long time.  I’m still running and trying to get in 2 resistance sessions a week.  Today I did 7 miles and an insanity video to try and get a jump on my Monday.  I’m trying to stay motivated to push myself, but lately I’ve been a slacker.  Today I tried to break my slacker routine and turned on my marathon playlist.  Totally worked!  It is full of Disney music, since it was from the Disney marathon.  Nothing like Donny Osmond telling me to “Be A Man” to get the old legs moving.  Thanks Donny.

2 thoughts on “Low Calorie Leftovers & Workout Update

Leave a Reply

