Backyard Update & Trainer Zone Fitness

Hello there!  Long time no see!  I’m so bad at updating right now.  The little backyard makeover I wanted to do has consumed my life.  Crazy, I know, it’s just a yard.  Our yard isn’t even big, who knew that there could be sooooo much crap back there!  I’ve been trimming, edging, weeding, ripping, tearing, screaming, you know, the usual yard work stuff.  I think the problem is I just don’t like dirt or stuff that just keeps growing no matter how much I try to kill it.  If I had the budget I think my whole yard would just be one gigantic deck with pretty gazebos.  No trees, no bushes, nothing green to make me nuts :).  I know, I know, I need to learn to like nature…stupid nature.

Aside from that I have a fun fitness update!  I decided to buy one of those daily deal thingys to this little place called Trainer Zone Fitness.  It is right next door to my daughters cheer/tumbling gym and they have classes at the same time.  Since I need to cut back on my shopping…we’ll discuss that another time, I thought exercise would be a great way to use the time I have while waiting for my offspring.

I was super nervous about going to my first class.  I’m such a dork.  Who knew you could feel so much social anxiety at 30!  What if the other kids are fitter than me, what they think I’m weird, what if I make a fool of myself, what if, what if, what if.  Just knock it off and go to the dang class Vickie!  And that is what I did.

The place is really new so the classes are nice and small.  There were 5 of us total.  3 dudes and 2 chicks.  The group classes have a circuit designed by the trainer.  It’s different everyday and there are lots of variations to work with a variety of fitness levels.  I was “the new girl” and totally out of my comfort zone.  The trainer was very nice though and walked me through the warm up, stretching, and then thoroughly demoed all the moves with all the variations.  The circuit consisted of push ups, squats, mountain climber crunches, assisted pull ups, and a couple other torturous thing I can no longer recall :).  We went in 4 rounds, with the reps getting smaller with each round.  I was a sweaty mess, but I completed every rep.

Now for the fun part.  The workout seemed a bit quick to me.  After warming up for 10 minutes and stretching, the workout was only 20 minutes.  So the trainer asked what I thought of the workout.  I was honest and said that I usually workout longer and that I’d like to keep going.  Dun, dun, dun.  Who invited the new girl?!  So the trainer convinced the other people in the class to complete the whole circuit again.  Thanks a lot new girl!  But after the second round, I felt I had done a really good workout, which is what we were all there for.

I was pretty sore for a couple of days after the class so I know I will be making some fitness progress, woohoo!  I was in definite need of a workout shake up and I’m glad I found one :).  I went to the class again tonight but I’ll save that update for tomorrow, if I can crawl out of bed and hobble to the computer!

Leave a Reply

