Utah Olympic Park Adventure!

This weekend I wanted to get my family out and try some new things.  I admit that I am easily bored with the day to day and love to give life a good shake every now and again.  Which is exactly what we did this weekend.

Warning, lots of pictures 🙂 and I have even more that I’m posting in an album on my facebookpage.  Like me!  Like me!

I have had a groupon to the Utah Olympic Park for a while and decided that it was time to make use of it.  Image

Here’s where future Olympians, or crazy people, can practice doing crazy aerials.

Image

No aerials for us today, but the Alpine Slide…Yes!

Image

I have to say, this was the least fun activity of the day.  The slide is very slow.  Unless you go full speed and never touch the brake from the beginning, (which is practically impossible unless you are the only one riding it) you are going to run into some areas where you’re crawling along.  Oh yeah, and I totally crashed into Val.  I couldn’t see her ahead of me until I took a sharp turn and then my brakes didn’t work as well as expected.  Oops.

Image

Next up, Cam and Val did the freestyle zipline.  It’s a half sized version of the extreme zipline.  It was bright and I couldn’t see my screen, so the video is a little crazy, but you get the idea 🙂

Time for a little rock wall warm up.

Image

Suited up and ready for an obstacle course.

Image

This is the Discover course.

Image

Not too high.  If I fall, I will not die.  Maybe break my arm.  But I will not die.

Image

Ok, starting to sweat now.  But these rope nets are fun.

Image

Alright, heart is starting to palpitate a little now.

Image

Valerie is loving this.

Image

And so is her daddy.

Image

Woohoo!

Image

Oh crap!  How did Val make this look so easy?!!

Image

Leaves, leaves are pretty stable, I can do leaves 😉

Image

This thingy, harder, and scarier.

Image

Weee!

Image

Sure Val, make the board thing look so simple.

Image

Time to take the little zipline down.

Image

This zipline was actually pretty fast and very fun!

Image

Valerie didn’t meet the weight requirement on the Extreme zipline, so she stayed and did the obstacle course again.  Cameron and I took the lift up and got ready to fly.  No photos or video of us actually going.  I was too busy holding on to dear life 🙂

Image

Ok, back on the ground.  See that tiny little flag way up on the mountain?  That’s where the zipline starts!  It was actually not as scary as I thought.  The view is fantastic!

Image

And we are just in time to meet Val at the obstacle course.

Image

Note.  Do not be timid on the little zipline.  You will not have enough momentum and get stuck…like this kid.  Yeah, he’s just dangling there, haha.  I shouldn’t laugh.  But haha, so funny.

Image

Where to now?  The Adventure Course and Drop Tower!!

Wait, did I say Drop Tower?  Yes I did!  That one in the background.  Time to jump!

Image

But first, more zipline!

I can’t believe my little princess!  Such an adventurous little spirit.

Image

Here comes Cameron!

Image

Valerie volunteered me to jump off the tower first.  Ok, Ok….AHHHHHHHH!

ImageImage

Valie is next!

Image

Here she comes!

Image

There she is.

It’s not a free fall.  The rope slows down your momentum.  But it definitely tickles your stomach on the way down.

Image

Wanna see a video of Cameron jumping??!  Watch when he lands…so funny:)

I don’t think we’ve had enough adrenaline pumping yet.  Onto the Adventure obstacle course!

This course has 2 levels and is much higher than the Discovery course.

Princesses first.

Image

Am I supposed to cross that log?!

Image

Oh my gosh, oh my gosh, oh my gosh!

Image

This is better.  Still high.  But at least I have something to hang onto.

Image

There goes my kiddo.

Image

I think she’s taunting me in this photo.

Image

Here’s Cam falling off the wire.  This one was hard.  Walk the little wire with this single rope thing?  Sure, no prob.

Image

I can’t believe she’s leaving us in the dust.  And am I supposed to grab those dangling pole things?!

Image

This one is hard!  Those beams swing!

Image

Almost there.

Image

Well, we made it.  Oh, wait.  Valie wants to do the extreme upper level.  Help!

Image

Off she goes!

Image

Heart pounding now!

Don’t look down Vickie, don’t look down!

Image

Walk across loose, swinging ropes?  Mmmm, K.

Image

A view from within the course.  Wow, that is a long way down.

Image

Oh goody, more swinging beams.

Image

Poles.  A little bit of a break.  At least these don’t swing.

Image

Look at the girl!  I’m so proud and frightened at the same time 🙂

Image

Is that one just a wire?!

Image

Oh no, it’s two wires.  Geez, for a second there I thought they were going to ask us to do something crazy 🙂

Image

This net takes stamina!  I was sweating after.  From exertion and fear.

Image

Oh my.

Image

Arms are getting tired now.  Good thing the guide came over and told me and Val the secrets to the last few obstacles because they were soooo hard.

Image

Swing monkey child, swing.  This one was the hardest.  The secret is to never be one just one rope.  Otherwise you get stuck dangling.  Just Val is here 🙂

Image

This obstacle is not shorty friendly!  The balls get higher the farther out you go!

Image

Last one!

Image

Made it!  And I’m alive!

So exhilarating!

Image

We ended the day watching a little bobsledding and went home to crash!

Image

If you’d like to see more pictures from the Olympic Park, like me on Facebook!

10 thoughts on “Utah Olympic Park Adventure!

  1. Wow this looks like such an amazing park! I have never seen so many cool slides, ropes and ladders all together.
    It looks like not only exhilarating (and for me probably a bit scary) but also looks like it would be a solid workout.
    I didn’t know that it was such a great place.
    Thanks so much for sharing. It looks like you had a wonderful time!
     
    Thanks for stopping by the site last week : )
     
    Chris
    http://www.mavrocatstrength.com

    • It was a great upper body workout for sure! There are also trails so you can hike up to the activities if you’d like. If I had worn my trail shoes I probably would have done that, it was so beautiful up there.

  2. Everything looks like so much fun! Funny thing, I was just looking up information about all of these activities a couple weeks ago. I would LOVE to take my kiddos to do all these things. I’m so glad you shared your experience and pictures. 😉

  3. Pingback: Top 10 in 2013 | presentlyobsessed

  4. Pingback: Fun Active Weekend! | presentlyobsessed

Leave a Reply

