Glow Run Recap

Hey there guys! Happy Friday to you!!

Last night was the Glow Run that SL Running Co put on.  I love night time running events!  It started at the store, went to Liberty Park, and finished back at the store for a total of 5 miles.  I wish I could have arrived early to participate in the raffle and contests, but alas, I was on kiddie patrol and just barely made it before the running started.

I said I was going to try KTTape on my knee for the race and that’s exactly what I did.  I watched a video for full knee support and this pic is of my artful taping :).  The tape worked really well.  My knee felt supported but not restricted.  I didn’t feel like I had tape on.  The adhesive stayed put through the whole race. Plus, I felt great and had no twinges!

By the way I’m not nakie in this pic!  My biker shorts were just riding up at the moment 🙂

Image

Here I am ready to run.  I went with pink bangs instead of the full wig (couldn’t get it to stay on).  It wasn’t super cold so I only needed one long-sleeved layer over my tech-T.  I think most normal people only need a long sleeved shirt, but I’m a human popsicle and need fleece whenever it goes below 55.

Image

A little closer and you can kind of see my face paint 🙂 Just Run

Image

When we started running I had planned on sticking to a 9:30 min/mile pace, but I felt fine at 8:50 so that’s what I stuck with.  It was such a lovely night.  I wish this weather would stick around.  Of course I know that’s not going to happen, but a girl can dream.

Image

I finished in 44:10, drank a bunch of water, and then headed home.

Glow Run complete!

Have a great weekend everyone! See you on Monday!

5 thoughts on “Glow Run Recap

    • I’m thinking it’s an overuse injury. I’ve been running a lot and attending fitness classes and I’m just active in my daily life as well. I noticed a little pain a few weeks ago and then it’s become a bit worse so…to the doctor I go.

      • That stinks and I am sorry to hear that. I can tell you from personal experience to make sure you give it plenty of rest. I pushed myself to hard in the past and it caused me to have to stop running all together. Going to the doctor sounds good, and a Chiropractor might be the route to go as well. I started going to one recently and it has helped a ton. I have several blogs if you want to read them, and I can answer any questions you might have.

        I hope you get back on your feet soon, but be smart and rest. Your body will tell you when it is 100%. When you do start up again, take it SLOW!!!!

  1. That looks like such a fun run! I’m in Utah too and would have loved to have run that race, dang it! The weather has been so beautiful too….I love it and could definitely get used to it. I love KT tape too. I had to use it on my foot a couple years ago and it was wonderful. It worked way better than I thought it would! I hope you have a wonderful Sunday!

Leave a Reply

