Festival of Trees 2013

Yesterday was decorating day for the Festival of Trees.  The Festival is a big event where they auction off all the donated trees to raise money for Primary Children’s Hospital.  This was my third year doing a small tree.  My dad took me to Festival as a kid every year for as long as I can remember.  

I let Valerie pick the theme of the tree every year.  This year she is really into pearly stuff and pastels.  So that’s what we did.  And of course I name the tree after her.  Valie Girl 2.  

Image

Funny story about these little accessories, the cute pearly tree…I broke it.  Yeah, it’s missing the base.  I actually wrote a note and taped it to the bottom apologizing for the casualty :).  Oooo and how do you like my tree skirt??  Those are my hot glue gun skills right there! 🙂

Image

Ready for it’s close up.Image

These little chandeliers were the first ornaments we found and loved.  We based the tree around them.

Image

And here’s me with my little tree!  Yes, I totally wore that shirt and pearls to coordinate with the tree.  I’m crazy, I know, you don’t have to tell me.  

If you are going to the festival you can find my tree on the end cap of aisle B.

Image

I tried not to look at the other trees going up because I’m taking my family this weekend to check everything out.  I’m such a dork.  As if it’s a surprise and I don’t want to spoil it for myself :).

Do you have any fun Christmas traditions??

 

 

10 thoughts on “Festival of Trees 2013

  1. Your tree is gorgeous! I absolutely love it – great job! There used to be a festival of trees in my home town that corresponded with the lighting of the capitol tree. They stopped doing it, but it was one of my favorite holiday traditions. Loved seeing all the trees! They even had a “secret” Santa workshop just for kids, and you had to crawl through some of the trees and through a small tunnel to access it. As you could imagine, for a kid, that was epic 🙂

    • It is an awesome holiday event. That’s too bad they stopped doing it in your town:(. Ours has a Santa workshop as well. We’ve never done it because of the lines. But it’s a huge hit.

  2. Beautiful! I love it! I can’t even tell the base is broken- way to go! Listen- I’ve got a tree at home that needs decorating.

Leave a Reply

