A Quick Update on the Runner’s Knee

It’s getting better!!  Monday I ran 2 miles before I felt anything, so exciting.  I walk/ran after that and continued to have very little discomfort.  Yesterday I got a little too excited and did a 7 mile run/walk and felt it a bit more than the day before.  So I’m going to stick to other forms of exercise for the next couple of days and try again.  I’m loving the whole walk/run thing though.  It makes me feel like I can still run, but with less stress to my body.  I guess that’s why so many people swear by the Jeff Galloway method.  I do different intervals almost every time.  Some days I will run 1 minute, walk 1 minute.  Other days I might run 5 minutes, walk 5 minutes.  It just depends on my mood.  The depressing thing is that I know I’m losing my speed.  I was my fastest ever right before my knee decided it didn’t want to cooperate anymore.  And speed is a hard thing!  I know my fellow runners will agree.  Speed takes tons of work and it’s not the most enjoyable kind of running.  So, knowing that I’m going to have to build up my speed again is not something I’m looking forward to.  

But until then, here’s what my regime looks like.  In case anyone else out there is plagued with runner’s knee.

  • Walk/run 3 times a week- using incline to burn more calories 
  • Concentrating on form and foot strike
  • Strength training 3 times a week- using high effort to burn calories and improve strength
  • Icing after most workouts
  • NSAIDS after running

I’d love to try taking up swimming as well.  However, I’d need someone to teach me how to freestyle swim:).  I’m at the doggie paddle/basically staying afloat level and I know that’s not going to help me do anything, except maybe drown.

So I’ll keep plugging away.  I’ll have another update next week after my first appointment with the physical therapist.  Hopefully he’ll have some good tips that I can pass along!!

Leave a Reply

