Training Spartan Style

Yesterday I announced my fun (crazy) little adventure that I signed the hubs and myself up for, the Spartan Beast in June.  The question that I am getting asked and that I am certainly asking myself constantly is how do you train for a race with unknown obstacles?  Good question!  I’ve been researching and watching youtube videos of past Spartan races and it looks like there are several obstacles that show up in all the races.  Climbing walls, climbing ropes, uphill trekking, army crawl stuff, jumping, hauling heavy objects, and scaling traverse ropes and walls are some of the ones I noticed.  Hmmmm, alrighty then.

Good thing I am an optimistic gal.  If there is a will there is a way.  I know I’m not going to be doing these exact things in my training.  I’m going to focus on training the muscles needed to complete these types of obstacles.  I’ve been working on my upper body strength for about 6 months now and I am going to keep plugging away at it.  I’m also going to work on grip strength.  It’s my guess that hanging on for dear life might be my strategy for some obstacles:).

I recently discovered that Spartan has a blog.  You can check it out here.  They post all kinds of helpful info on it and have archived a bunch of workouts to help with training.  I also signed up for their WOD email.  I highly suggest it.  The workouts are designed to train you for the races.  It’s usually up to you how many times you complete the circuit.  Sign up here if you are interested in some Spartan style training!

Here’s a sample of the workout they sent yesterday.  My daughter wants to do this one today after school!  She is getting in the training spirit, it’s pretty amazing.  This workout is designed for a shorter race so I may complete the circuit 2 times, we will see…

Have a fab day everyone!!

Spartan WOD for 01.05.14
Day 5 of 31: January Boot Camp – Sprint Edition

Medusa’s Challenge

Our greatest glory is not in never failing, but in rising up every time we fail.
– Ralph Waldo Emerson

Warm-up:
Dynamic warm-up – each movement x2 at 25 yards each:
High knee walk, high knee jog, butt kickers, lateral shuffle, straight leg march, skip, straight leg skip

Main Set:
Run/Jog/Walk 15 minutes

Perform 1 minute of each exercise, with 10 second rest between:

  • push-ups
  • crunches
  • pull-ups
  • plank
  • squat jumps
  • jump rope (fast)
  • mountain climbers
  • flutter kicks
  • arm curls with sandbag
  • 1-minute rest

Perform strength exercise sequence 1-3 times.

Run/Jog/Walk 15 minutes

Stretch

 

6 thoughts on “Training Spartan Style

  1. Good luck!! I did my first Spartan beast last November in SC. It was awesome insane! I saw a lot of people not making it. I trained and was well prepared and had lots of fun. Anyone can do it, you just have to prepare for it 🙂

Leave a Reply

