Spartan Training, St. Patrick’s Day Festivities, & Rainbow Cupcake Tutorial!

Who’s ready for a Spartan Training update?!  Apparently not me, because I hardly have any fun pics.  Oh well, having record of me sweaty and killing over are not my favorite thing anyway :).

On Saturday I went to a class at Trainer Zone Fitness for the first ever Beast class.  The hardest thing for me is the early morning wake up call!  I was zombie girl.  So…alright half awake Vickie, 50 burpees stat! Ugh.  It took me a full round of exercises to feel semi alert.  I guess I need to stop staying up late watching Harry Potter, giving myself nightmares, and then attempting difficult workouts at the crack of dawn.  Live and learn.

Sunday I was so not feeling it.  The last thing I wanted to do was go out and do another beast style workout.  But, being the slave driver encouraging wife I am, I drug my hubs out.  I made a couple changes to one of the workouts that I got in a Spartan email and printed it off.  I do not know what I was thinking!  100 pull-ups!  This workout took me forever because of the pull-ups.  We are talking 3 hours.  I decided that transitioning eats up a bunch of time as well.  The soccer goals that I do pull-ups on are kind of far from the benches I do box jumps on, and then just moving back and forth, finding where I left my sandbag, etc.  I guess I was also being pretty casual about my pace as well.  By casual I mean that I was messing around way too much :).

Oh yeah, I also added a 1 mile warm up and a 1 mile cool down.  You know, just to make sure.

Image

Miss Valie snapped this pic of me when I was finally done.  Haha, so tired, so hungry, so gross and sweaty!  And yes, that is a giant hole in my sandbag.  Guess I will attempt at sewing it up, but a more sturdy replacement will probably be needed.

Image

I do not know why I remembered to bring Freddie a substantial amount of food and water and not us.  I guess I wasn’t planning on taking a million years to complete this workout.  Oh yeah, and I didn’t even get all the pull-ups and chin ups done.  I died after 50 pull-ups and 25 chin ups.  My arms just didn’t want to move anymore, they decided to go on strike.

But I guess we can put that workout in the books as exhausting.  K, so lets stop talking about it and move on to something fun!

Image

St. Patrick’s Day mania hit our house yesterday.  This little holiday is way bigger now compared to when I was a kid.  Leprechauns visit classrooms and homes, and are supposed to play pranks, leave treats, and be awesome.  Uh, when I was kid we wore green, pinched people, and that was it.  I guess that is the evolution of holidays.

Miss Val had some green & gold goodies waiting for her when she got home from school.

Image

I cooked my first ever corned beef, veggies, and cabbage meal!  Sorry, cabbage not pictured.  It’s not very pretty anyway :).

My only complaint about corned beef and beef in general is that it’s so fatty.  I only had a little and then shared with Freddie.

Image

This is more my taste!  Oh my green goodness.  

Image

I also pulled out a soda I bought on my birthday and gave it a try.  It was pretty good.  But I don’t really like soda that much so I passed this off to my family.  Verdict from then…delicious.

Image

Now onto the favorite tradition, rainbow cupcakes!!  I made these last year and apparently I will be making them every year for as long as my baby finds St. Patrick’s Day fun.  I’m such a sucker.  Valie said “you are going to make the rainbow cupcakes for St. Patrick’s day aren’t you mom?  They are my favorite!”  

So of course I made them.  

They are pretty cute.  Definitely one of my favorites.  It’s a tie between this one and the pink lemonade cupcake!

Image

I get asked how to make them all the time, so here’s a quick tutorial.

I just use a boxed vanilla cake mix for these.  I also add 1/3 cup of flour and a 1/3 cup of sour cream to the batter.  Then you split the batter into 6 small bowls.  Try to make it as even as possible.  Next, you dye, dye, dye!  

Image

I like white cupcake liners for this.  It allows the rainbow to show through.  This year I started with purple on the bottom and worked my way up.  It is a pretty small amount of batter for each color, a scant tablespoon.

My batch made 18 cupcakes.

Image

Keep layering.  They don’t have to be perfect and you don’t have to spread the batter.  

Image

Ta da! All the colors are in.

Image

Now bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.  They should be all colorful and enticing.

Image

For the frosting I do a basic cream cheese.

2 sticks of butter, 1 8oz package of cream cheese, 2 pounds of powdered sugar, 2 tsp of vanilla, and a little milk to thin it.

The rainbow decorations are just rainbow airheads.  I buy mine at Smith’s, down the candy aisle.

The inside of these are so dang cute!!

Image

A little bit time consuming but worth it.  Especially if you have a little cutie biting into the rainbow :).

Hope everyone had a fun St. Patty’s Day.

Question of the Day:  Do you think St. Patrick’s Day has changed since you were a kid??

 

 

Leave a Reply

