Time For Some Meal Prep!

 

I kicked up my Beast training a bit the past week and it is resulting in something I call chronic hunger.  I’m trying to keep it “clean” and healthy and eat things to build muscle and lower body fat, but dang, when you are ravenous 7 times a day it’s tough to make the right choice every time!  I mean come on.  Why do they have to make so many delicious high carb, high sugar, fantastically temping snacks!?

So it’s back to the kitchen for some meal prep.

Lots of salads this week!  I also made 3 different batches of protein bars and failed to photograph them, boo.  But they are one of my new favorite things so I’m sure I’ll be making them again in the near future.

Image

I kept on seeing recipes for broccoli salad and it sounded sooooo good.  However, the only thing healthy about broccoli salad is the broccoli.  The dressing is mayo based, it has cheese, bacon, sunflower seeds, etc.  Delicious and super fattening.  So I took a whirl at lightening it up and then adding chicken to make it a complete meal.  Quick recipe description after the jump…

Image

Super Broccoli Salad with Red Onion Dressing

  • 1.5 pounds of broccoli florets (blanched)
  • 1 pound of beets (peeled, diced, and roasted)
  • 1/2 pound shredded carrots
  • 1/2 cup of dried cranberries

To roast beets, peel them first, dice, and place on a cookie sheet.  Toss with a little olive oil, salt, and pepper.  Roast at 400 degrees for 40 minutes.

Put all the salad ingredients in a big bowl.

Dressing

  • 1/2 of a red onion
  • 7 Tbsp Miracle Whip (regular or light)
  • 5 Tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp poppy seeds
  • salt and pepper to taste

Place red onion in food processor and pulse until very fine.  Add all other ingredients and pulse to combine.  If it’s too thick add a little bit more vinegar.

Pour dressing over veggies and toss.  It tastes even better if you let it marinate!

Add some chicken and it’s a fantastic healthy meal!

Image

Ok, next up is a simple shredded pork and avocado salad.  I seasoned the pork with salt, pepper, garlic, and onion.  Then placed the pork in a slow cooker with a can of coke and let it cook for 6 hours on low.  When it was done I shredded it and placed 3 oz. on each salad along with half an avocado that I tossed in lime.  When it comes time to eat the salad I put my new fave salsa on top, Archer Farms Corn and Black Bean Salsa!  So good, you must try it.

Image

And lastly we have my favorite go to meal.  Grilled chicken, roasted butternut squash, and broccoli.  I also used some store bought curry sauce to spice things up a bit.

Image

 

Alright hunger monster, let’s see you beat this round of meal prep! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Time For Some Meal Prep!

  1. And…. I’m salavating. All of these look SO delicious!!
    How do you keep your avocado from turning dark? Does the lime juice keep it looking fresh?

    • The lime will keep it looking fresh for a couple of days before it starts to turn a little brown. But it doesn’t spoil, it just doesn’t look quite as pretty. I just cover it with salsa and it’s all good 🙂

Leave a Reply

