Day 7 Hawaii: Pool Day & Paradise Cove Luau

Day 7 in Hawaii was one of my favorite days.  We didn’t have any big plans during the day and we were able to just relax and enjoy Aulani.  I was up early though, I just couldn’t shake my mainland clock.  So I was in the gym burning calories because I knew I was going to enjoy some awesome luau food later:).  I even had a personal best 5 mile run!  I don’t know if it was the lower altitude, the warm weather, the excitement of travel, or just all the shave ice, but my running was better than it ever had been.

I knocked out 5 miles in under 40 minutes!  I was giddy:).  Oh yeah, totally skipped around the gym like an idiot after that run.

I also did more strength training and went back out to boot camp right after.  I was determined to leave Hawaii with the same bod that I came with.  Not an easy task with all the delicious island food just screaming your name at every corner.

Image

But let’s not talk about maintaining girlish figures!  Boring!

Let’s go snorkeling!  We definitely got our moneys worth out of rainbow reef.  Val just loved it.  She’s part fish, I just know it.  I took this pic from the viewing windows.

Image

 

I also took this video from the viewing window as well.  Valie and Cameron have a handshake that they do.  It’s pretty darn cute and funny and I hope she never gets too old to do it.  They add onto it a couple times a year so I can’t imagine how long it will be in a few years!

After snorkeling a cold treat was a requirement.  They have a self serve ice-cream machine in one of the shops by the pool.  I wanted to swirl and obscene amount into the cup, but I decide to stop just shy of embarrassing:).  You can’t really tell from the picture, but it was pretty tall.  Girly was happy.

Image

Beach time!

K. Feel free to laugh at my insane tan/burn lines.  Yeah, I had too much fun in the sun and yes, it was worth it.  Oh and did I mention that my hair was like crazy huge in Hawaii?  Well, it was.  Totally out of control.

Image

Look what we spotted on the wall by the beach!  Our state and last name!  Cause ya know, we totally donated $10,000 to have a tile at Aulani 😉

Image

Time for more character pics!!  The lines were so short to meet character, it was the best.  I just love Miss Minnie.  When I grow up I want to be just like her 🙂

Image

Awe I love this pic.  Um yeah, there’s no Val because she was busy swimming.  But Cam knows I love characters and humors my stalking.

Image

Ah I love Hawaiian Mickey!

Val was somewhere in that pool behind me.  Probably hiding from her embarrassing Mom:)

Image

Aloha!!

For real, the burn lines, I’m going to have to photo shop these.  Now if only I knew how to do that…

Image

Oh well, let’s just put on some clothes and quit looking at my terrible tan!

Ta-da!  Who’s ready for a luau????!!!

We walked over to Paradise Cove from Aulani.  It was only about 10 minutes.

Image

Right when you come through the gates, you take a pictures with two Hawaiian hotties and they hand you a beverage.  Right then I knew this was going to be a fabulous evening.

Image

There were lots of tables teaching guests how to make bracelets and head dresses.  It was so much fun!

Image

They give everyone 2 additional drink tickets to use at the bar.  The non-alcoholic pina colada was too die for!!  I could of just spent the whole night making crafts and drinking these and been happy as a clam.

Image

My cute sis-in-laws also enjoyed the pina coladas.  Oh man, I could really go for one of those right now!

Image

Sometime during the beverage/craft time a dude climbed a coconut tree and sprinkled flowers over the guests.  I was pretty impressed by his leg strength, maybe I should add climbing trees to my exercise regime:)

Image

This is the strawberry colada version of deliciousness!  I’m getting a sugar high just thinking about it.

Image

There must have been some spear throwing potion in that drink because Cam rocked at the spear throwing!

Image

I even got a video of his awesome skills!

Me with a spear…definitely not as graceful.  But I’m sure, very funny to watch.

Image

Even Miss Val got to throw the spear.  Yeah, she was better than me.

I know we are going to have to throw spears at the Spartan race…I’m in trouble.

Image

More games!  I just loved all the activities they had at Paradise Cove.  If I had to pick between Paradise Cove and the PCC luau, I’d have to go with Paradise Cove just because of the pre luau entertainment and drinks.

Image

Making flower bracelets on the beach.  Does it get any better??

Image

Oh wait it does.  Flower bracelet done and the hubby brought over a new tropical drink to try:)

Image

They even had people doing fun tattoos!  But you gotta be careful, they smear.

Image

Here we are waiting for a kayak.

Image\

And then here we are in the kayak.  Isn’t Lesley cute?  She was happy to smile while my child is telling to put the camera down and paddle.

Image

K, I’ll paddle…just one more selfie with Cam:)

Image

Right before the show the sun was setting.  It was gorgeous!Image

Hello!!  One of the most lovely scenes I’ve ever witnessed.

Image

Happy happy happy

Image

I swear this is the last shot.

Let’s go eat!!

Image

Yummmm!  Oh yes that is pork, fried chicken, fish, salad, and pineapple!  And did I have 2 plates plus 2 desserts, yes sir I did.  I didn’t workout for 3 hours for nothing!

Image

Oh yeah there was a show too.  Honestly though the food was way good so I was distracted.  But what I remember, the fire dancers were amazing.

Image

But the Tahitian hotties were my favorite.

Image

Moral of the story, if you want lots of beverages, pre show entertainment, lots of yummy food, and really cute island dancers…go to Paradise Cove;)

Oh I’m sad day 7 is over!  That leaves only one day left and a red eye flight.

See ya tomorrow to finish up the great Hawaiian adventure!!

11 thoughts on “Day 7 Hawaii: Pool Day & Paradise Cove Luau

  1. Great trip report! It makes me want to visit Hawaii even more. I love the colorful dress you wore for the luau! It looks super comfy and perfect for vacation!

  2. Thank you for the post. I’ve been there for a long time and planning to return in the future. Your guy&gal had a wonderful time enjoying the hospitality of Paradise Cove had to offer. Mahalo, enjoyed!

Leave a Reply

