Color Me Rad 5k

This past Saturday I was lucky enough to participate in the Color Me Rad 5k as an affiliate!  I was so excited!  I entered Miss Valie and even my awesome sister in laws joined in on the fun with us.  This was my first “color” run so I didn’t really know what to expect.  The website said to wear white and show up for some fun and the is exactly what we did.

Here we are all nice and clean before the race:).  I’m so glad they gave everyone sunglasses!  It kept the color out of the eyes.

Image

The start and finish line were right next to each other which made it super easy for any spectators.  However I didn’t see many spectators.  This is such a family friendly race that I think everyone just does it instead of sitting on the sidelines.  Kids 7 and under get to participate for free!

Image

There are color bomb stations throughout the course.  The color of the arches is the color that you will be splattered with:)Image

The color is just colored cornstarch so if you get it in your mouth, no worries.  Granted, it doesn’t taste fantastic, but it won’t kill ya.

Valerie’s cousins participated in the 5k as well and they all had a fantastic time!  I didn’t hear complaining about the distance, time, effort or anything!  They were just having a ball and getting exercise without even thinking about it.

Image

When we made it to the finish line we were pretty colorful.  But of course they give you a packet of color as you cross the finish line to make and even bigger mess of yourself.

Image

I don’t think there could have been a better way to start off the first official day of SUMMER!!

Image

Selfie Time 🙂

Image

And HAHAHAHA, a random photo bomber! Hey, he’s pretty cute 😉

Image

Um, I would definitely recommend brining old towels or sheets to put in your car when you are done.  Also baby wipes for your hands and soles of your shoes.  I wipes my hands off the best I could, but my steering wheel was still blue by the time we got home.

Image

Sign of a good time…rainbow hair.

ImageI’d highly recommend this race for families, beginning runners, and those who just want to have a good time.  This is not a serious race and it’s not timed, so if you are looking to compete this is not the place.  But if you want to try something new and colorful with a party atmosphere, you’ve found it.  I’ll definitely be entering again next year:)

 

Leave a Reply

